And just like that we are back for Lent 2015!

This little blog has been horribly neglected over the past year. I apologize for being so absent! But with the birth of our third baby, other writing opportunities, a small part-time job, a local tv appearance, and life in general being busy, something had to give! I just recently starting posting somewhat regular at my other blog, and my husband has encouraged me to give this one a little more attention now. So enough with the excuses, and let’s get right into it!

Lent 2015!

Giving up, taking up, what have you decided?! We do the usual giving up of “treats” (junk food, take out, baked goods etc) but also like to give up some thing a little more challenging and replace it with something better for our soul. This year my husband is giving up video games, and I am giving up my current guilty pleasure Gossip Girl. First lets say that I am horribly embarrassed to even admit on here that I have been binge watching it on Netflix for a while now. I am 31 years old, a mother of 3, and I am watching a show that is meant for high school girls. And frankly just the name of it is so sinful! I don’t gossip, yet here I am crazy for a tv show that is all about gossiping, and ruining he lives of the ones you love with gossip!

So, in our free time, usually in the evenings once the kids are asleep, when we would normally do these activities, we are going to watch Catholic movies. And not just historical depictions, but Hollywood ones that show Catholics in a positive light.

My husband is currently making a spread sheet with them all! Ones we own, ones we will get from the library, and ones we can find on Netflix!

So where does this blog fit in? What do you readers have to do with all of this? Well, I am hoping to share a little review and write-up about them all. Share our thoughts on how we feel the Catholics were portrayed, how historically accurate it was, and just if it was a good film. I hope this idea interests you, and that you will stick around for it! I would love to hear what you are doing this Lenten season! In addition to this, I am also hoping to get back into morning prayers, especially as a family. Mornings always seem so hectic and stressful, I am hoping if I can get my children to slow down even for a moment, and we can all pray together before leaving the house, the day will be off to a better start! It seems to settle everyone down at the end of the day, so why not start the day calmly as well!

movie reviews

For those curious about my other writing obligations you can find me on my other blog Not A Coupon Queen, occasionally at Real Housekeeping, and Dynamic Women of Faith

5 thoughts on “And just like that we are back for Lent 2015!

  1. I really like your idea of watching a whole lot of Catholic movies!! I will definitely check back in to see what you’ve been up to so far!

    • My first glimpse of the list my husband made, made me a little nervouse! It was mostly European films with sub titles! But really great historical depictions, lots of WWII/Nazi films, and a few Hollywood ones too. I’m so excited about it, and can’t wait to share them all with everyone!

      • There’s a theatrical one of John Paul ii, with Jon Voight, came out in 2005. A little on the long side, but absolutely not a boring documentary. It’s great! I’d really recommend it if you can find it.

  2. I feel you, girl. I have a love/hate/ashamed thing going on with the Bachelor almost every season…

    • I have been so good lately with my TV watching, and keeping it pretty clean. I just about stopped watching all TV a few years ago because it was all so sinful and un wholesome I couldnt stand it…now Im hooked on Gossip Girl and The Good Wife 😦 .

Leave a Reply

