Saint Monica

I love learning about different Saints, and all the prayers for specific intentions. I know I need to work on my patience with my children (2 and 4 are tough ages!), and I pray every night to Mary about this. But I recently learned about Saint Monica, and think I will add her to my daily prayers. And it just so happens, I learned about her right before her feast day!

August 27th – Feast of Saint Monica

I won’t go into too much detail about her, as I’m sure many other Catholic blogs will be writing about her today, and in a much more eloquent way than I ever could, but here is the short version of her life:

She suffered in a difficult marriage, married to a man with an awful temper. She was also the mother of St. Augustine, who she dedicated her life to, and prayed for constantly, as he appeared to be a bit on the lazy side.

I know there was much more to her, but I wanted to focus on these two points of her life, as she is the Patron Saint of difficult marriages and abused women, as well as housewives, mothers and wives in general. Thankfully I do not need to pray to her for help with my marriage, but I could use some help in being a better mother, and lots of help with my patience.

Raising children is not an easy task, especially raising Catholic kids in such a secular world. With the devil around just about every corner, waiting to lead them astray, our children need us praying for them every day. They also need to see us praying to God, to Jesus, and to different Saints asking for help.

I just love that there is a Saint for just about every need out there, and they are there for you, just waiting to help take your prayers up. They want to bring your intentions forward, they just need you to ask for their help. It is so reassuring as an adult to know that these Saints are there waiting to help me, and that I can go to them any time for help and guidance.

We also love sharing new Saints with our children, buying them new prayer cards, teaching them about their lives, and learning the new prayers with them. My son often requests a Guardian Angel or Saint Michael prayer before bed, I guess he is looking for a little protection while he sleeps.

Prayer to Saint Monica

Exemplary Mother of the Great Augustine, You perseveringly pursued your wayward son

Not with threats but with prayerful cries to heaven.

Intercede for all mothers in our day

So that they may learn to draw their children to God.

Teach them how to remain close to their children,

Even the prodigal sons and daughters who have sadly gone astray.

Dear St Monica, troubled wife and mother,

many sorrows pierced your heart during your lifetime.

Yet, you never despaired or lost faith.

With confidence, persistence, and profound faith,

you prayed daily for the conversion

of your beloved husband, Patricius,

and your beloved son, Augustine;

your prayers were answered.

Grant me that same fortitude, patience,

and trust in the Lord.

Intercede for me, dear St Monica,

that God may favourably hear my plea.
(mention your intention here)

Grant me the grace to accept His Will in all things,

through Jesus Christ, our Lord,

in the unity of the Holy Spirit,

one God, forever and ever.

Amen

Saint Monica

Leave a Reply

