A New Place

I have been struggling with this for some time. Wanting to write about being Catholic, knowing that my frugal living blog wasn’t the place for it, but not sure if I could/should start a new blog. My issue is mostly with sharing such a personal part of my life, but wanting to have a space that might just inspire someone to come back to the Church.

“Beware of practicing your piety before others in order to be seen by them” (Matthew 6:1).

This blog is not a place for me to show off, and brag about how Catholic my family is. This blog is a place to share how we can all trust in Him a little more, a place to share how my family struggles with being Catholic in a secular world, and a place to share ideas on raising Catholic children.

I am no theologian, and I am a new Catholic (I was Baptized at Easter in 2009), so I am learning as I go. This blog might have the occasional heavy post, but will mostly be about everyday things. I want to share the Catholic books I am reading, my opinion on Catholic news, and how we celebrate Holidays. Every day things that we do that bring us a little closer to God, to Jesus, and to all our wonderful Saints.

I am also a wife and a mother, and struggle with my faith as much as I struggle with getting the housework done each day. I hope to help you see that you can find Him in everything you do, that He has a plan for you and loves you very much.

5 thoughts on “A New Place

  1. Why did convert? Just curious as I converted in 2000 before my marriage. I was previously a non practicing Anglican. I had been attending the Catholic church with my boyfriend for several years before that.

    • Thanks so much for commenting Nicole! I converted back in 2009, when I was pregnant with my 1st child. I wish I had done it sooner, before we were married, but I didn’t really feel the calling until we were starting a family.

      My parents were United, but left that church, so I wasn’t really raised as anything, but always knew that God existed. Catholism was the answer to prayers I didn’t even know I had when I was a teenager, when God brought me to my future husband via an after school job. He was raised Catholic, and everything about how I was already living my life and how I thought, fit so perfectly with Church teachings. We knew very early in our relationship that we would marry and have a family, and I knew it was only a matter of time until I converted.

      I guess this answer would make a better post (perhaps in the future!) with more details.
      Thanks again for commenting, and asking a great question!

  2. Found you on Catholicmom.com NOW, we’re a sisterhood in an official capacity. Might I ask that you visit http://www.suscipio4women.com/ A great community. I just joined recently and the women there are fantastic. We link up Mondays with a Catholic Women’s Almanac (lovingly CWA) a snapshot of our lives to share and laugh over. There’s alot more of course. Hope to see you there!
    Cristina

    • Christina, thank you so much for stopping by and commenting, and for sharing this site. I will for sure check it out.

      The community response has been incredible, and I am feeling totally blessed, and so very happy to have finally started being more Catholic on social media and with this blog.

Leave a Reply

